Air SE vs XMAX V3 Pro: Compact Glass-Path Contenders
Share
In short: the Arizer Air SE is the simpler of the two. It has five preset temperatures, a fixed 10-minute session and an all-glass aroma tube that doubles as the mouthpiece. The XMAX V3 Pro gives you degree-by-degree control from 100 to 220°C, a choice of session or on-demand heating and USB-C charging, but its glass upgrades need a separate metal base. Pick the Air SE for plug-and-play glass and pre-loaded tubes. Pick the XMAX V3 Pro if you like fine-tuning and short on-demand draws.
Both are slim stick-style portables that run on a removable 18650 cell and can put glass in the vapour path. That is roughly where the similarities end. Device figures below come from Arizer's support pages and comparison chart, or from XVape's XMAX V3 Pro manual; accessory details come from our product listings.
XMAX V3 Pro vs Arizer Air SE at a glance
| Arizer Air SE | XMAX V3 Pro | |
|---|---|---|
| Temperature | 5 presets: 180, 190, 200, 205, 210°C | 100 to 220°C in 1° steps |
| Modes | One session, fixed 10-minute auto-off | 4- or 6-minute session, or on-demand (hold up to 30 seconds) |
| Heat-up | Under 60 seconds (Arizer) | Not stated in the manual |
| Heating | Ceramic hybrid, 75% convection and 25% conduction | Stainless steel oven; heating split not stated in the manual |
| Capacity | Up to 0.3 g per tube | Not stated in the manual |
| Battery | Removable 18650, up to 80 minutes per charge | Removable 18650, about 2,600 mAh |
| Charging | Micro-USB, use while charging | USB-C, 5 V / 1 A |
| Size and weight | 122 mm tall, 28 mm across, 103 g | 150.2 × 26.6 × 23.8 mm |
| Water | 14 and 19 mm frosted tubes (sold separately) | WPA or bubbler on a metal base (sold separately) |
| Warranty | Lifetime on the heater, 1 year on defects excluding battery; glass not covered | Not stated in the manual. Check with your seller |
Heating and control
The Air SE has one adjustment button and five colour-coded presets: blue 180°C, white 190°C, green 200°C, orange 205°C and red 210°C. Each session switches off automatically after 10 minutes, though you can turn it off sooner. There is no screen and no fine adjustment. If you find a setting you like and stick with it, that simplicity is a strength. If you like stepping up a few degrees at a time, you will soon feel limited.
The XMAX V3 Pro has an OLED screen and any temperature from 100 to 220°C. XVape's manual lists two session lengths, four and six minutes, plus an on-demand mode that heats only while you hold the button, for up to 30 seconds at a time. In on-demand mode, once idle, it goes into standby after 30 seconds, then switches off after a further 120 seconds. On-demand suits someone who takes a few draws now and then, rather than one sitting.
Battery and charging
Both take a removable 18650, so a charged spare extends your time away from a socket. Arizer quotes up to 80 minutes of use per charge for the Air SE, about 3.5 hours for a full charge, and use while charging once the battery has had 15 to 20 minutes. Arizer also says to use only official Air SE batteries. The Air SE's weak point is micro-USB, which means carrying an older cable.
The XMAX V3 Pro charges over USB-C at 5 V / 1 A. Different printings of its manual list the cell as 2,600 mAh or 2,550 mAh, so treat it as roughly 2,550–2,600 mAh. XVape does not give a session count, so real battery life depends on your temperature and how you use on-demand.
Glass and the vapour path
This is the biggest practical difference.
On the Air SE, you load herb into the bowl end of a glass aroma tube, push the tube into the heater and draw from the other end. The vapour passes through the glass tube from bowl to mouthpiece. Arizer's standard Air and Solo aroma tubes are shared across the range, and many of our stems list the Air SE by name. Our Solo and Air stems collection marks which ones fit. Arizer says its metal screens are optional and can make vapour harsher, because the tube already has a glass screen built in.
On the XMAX V3 Pro, herb goes into the stainless steel oven, and a mouthpiece sits on top under a magnetic lid. Our glass for it, such as the 110 mm straight stems, needs the black metal base. The base is not included with the glass, so check you have one before ordering. Our XMAX accessories fit guide explains the setup.
Loading, carrying and daily handling
Because the herb sits in the Air SE's tube, you can pre-load several tubes, cap them and swap them in seconds. Our silicone stem caps fit Arizer glass tubes, but not the stock PVC travel tubes. The trade-off is that glass sticks out of the top of the device, so you need to look after it in a bag. Arizer does not cover glass under warranty.
The XMAX V3 Pro reloads like most oven devices: empty the oven, refill it and put the mouthpiece back. It is the longer of the two at about 150 mm, and with only its stock mouthpiece on top it is a simple shape to carry.
Water options
- Air SE: Arizer lists compatibility with 14 mm and 19 mm glass-on-glass joints using frosted tubes. Our 14 mm adapter and the 10/14/18 mm multi-fit WPA list the Air SE. With no water pipe, the Pop-Top bubbler plugs straight in.
- XMAX V3 Pro: our 10/14/18 mm WPA and 130 mm bubbler both need the metal base. Our XMAX water guide covers the details.
What you will spend on over time
- Air SE: replacement glass tubes, the odd screen if you use them, and eventually an official 18650.
- XMAX V3 Pro: the metal base, a one-off cost if you want glass, then glass as it breaks and an 18650 cell.
Which should you choose?
- Choose the Air SE if you want the fewest decisions, like pre-loading glass tubes, and are happy with five fixed temperatures.
- Choose the XMAX V3 Pro if you want exact temperatures, on-demand draws and USB-C, and do not mind adding a base for glass.
- Consider the Air MAX if you like Arizer's glass tubes but want a screen, 1° control from 50 to 220°C and a larger 26650 battery. The Arizer Air MAX is the Arizer step up we stock. Arizer quotes up to about 135 minutes per charge.
Frequently asked questions
Do Air SE stems fit the XMAX V3 Pro?
Not the glass we stock. Our stems and adapters are listed for one device or the other, so buy glass named for the device you own.
Can I use the Air SE while it charges?
Yes. Arizer says to let it charge for 15 to 20 minutes first. We have not been able to confirm use while charging for the XMAX V3 Pro, so check with your seller.
Which is better for beginners?
The Air SE. With five presets and a fixed session, there is very little to get wrong. For more head-to-heads, see our Solo 3 vs Air SE and Solo 3 vs XMAX V3 Pro reviews.
All XMAX glass and water parts are in our XMAX V3 Pro and V4 Pro collection.




